10 Best Level 1 Portable EV Chargers for U.S. EV Owners

Finding the best level 1 portable ev charger usually comes down to one practical question: what can you plug into tonight? For a lot of U.S. EV owners, that means a standard household-style outlet in the garage, a shared driveway, or a friend’s house — and a charger you can toss in the trunk when you move on.

Quick Verdict

The Lectron Level 1/2 Tesla NACS Portable EV Charger is our strongest recommendation for NACS drivers, because the listing pairs a NEMA 5-15 plug for Level 1 charging with a NEMA 14-50 plug for faster Level 2 charging, plus a 20 ft cable, a wall mount, and ETL certification. The main limitation is that it uses a NACS connector only and sits in a higher price tier, so J1772 drivers should look further down this list.

One thing worth saying up front: many products in this category are actually dual-level units that can run on either a 120V or a 240V plug. That flexibility is useful, but it does not mean your car will accept every amp the charger can offer. Your vehicle’s onboard AC charger sets the real ceiling.

Quick Product Comparison

Product Image Type / Connector Best For Current Price
Lectron Level 1/2 Tesla NACS Lectron Level 1/2 Tesla NACS portable EV charger with NEMA 14-50 and 5-15 plugs NACS, dual-level (5-15 / 14-50) NACS owners who want one charger for both plug types See Price →
Level 1&2 32A NACS Charger Level 1 and 2 32 amp portable NACS EV charger with 20 foot cable and carrying bag NACS, dual-level (5-15 / 14-50) NACS owners who want 32A Level 2 and 12A Level 1 See Price →
WOLFBOX PE40 WOLFBOX PE40 portable Level 1 and 2 EV charger with 40 amp J1772 connector J1772, 40A listed J1772 drivers who want a 40A-capable portable unit See Price →
J1772 Dual-Level Charger Portable Level 1 and 2 EV charger for J1772 vehicles with NEMA 5-15 and 6-20 plugs J1772, dual-level (5-15 / 6-20) Budget-minded J1772 owners who want two plug options See Price →
TopAutoGear 40FT TopAutoGear portable Level 1 and 2 EV charger with 40 foot cable and LCD display J1772, 16A adjustable Long driveways and garages where cable reach matters See Price →
EVDANCE Level 1&2 EVDANCE Level 1 and 2 portable EV charger with 25 foot J1772 cable J1772, 12A at 120V / 16A at 240V EV and PHEV owners who want a heavily reviewed pick See Price →
16A 3.5KW Dual-Level Compact 16 amp Level 1 and 2 portable EV charger with 20 foot cable for J1772 EVs J1772, 16A, 110–240V Compact everyday dual-level charging for J1772 cars See Price →
Lectron Level 1 J1772 Lectron Level 1 EV charger with 120V NEMA 5-15 plug and 16 foot J1772 cable J1772, 120V 15A Drivers who only need a dedicated Level 1 charger See Price →
Lectron Level 1 Tesla WiFi Lectron Level 1 Tesla WiFi portable EV charger with app control and 16 foot NACS cable NACS, 120V 12A Tesla and NACS drivers who want app scheduling See Price →
CHARGEHERE 32A Adjustable CHARGEHERE 32 amp Level 1 and 2 portable EV charger with adjustable current and 25 foot J1772 cable J1772, adjustable 6–32A J1772 owners who want to dial charging current down See Price →

What Matters for Best Level 1 Portable Ev Charger

1. What Level 1 actually delivers. Level 1 charging runs on a standard 120V household-style outlet. The Lectron Level 1 J1772 unit in this roundup is listed at 120V and 15A, which the listing describes as roughly 1.65 kW and 40–50 miles of overnight range. That is the realistic ballpark for this class — fine for a commuter, tight for a long daily drive.

2. Connector type comes first. NACS (Tesla-style) and J1772 are not interchangeable without an adapter, and the listing must say which one you are buying. Six products here use J1772 and three use NACS, so match the connector to your car’s charge port before anything else.

3. Dual-level flexibility and plug types. Several picks ship with two plug options — commonly a NEMA 5-15 for 120V use and a NEMA 14-50 or 6-20 for 240V use. If you want one charger that travels between a household outlet and a higher-power outlet, this is the feature to compare. Our breakdown of 40 amp Level 1 and 2 portable EV chargers covers how that dual-level approach plays out in practice.

4. Cable reach and portability. Reach ranges from 16 ft to 40 ft across these listings. A 16 ft cable is usually fine for a garage with the outlet near the nose of the car; a 40 ft cable is the safer bet for a driveway or a shared parking spot.

5. Safety documentation. Look for a named listing on the product page — ETL, UL 2594, FCC, or Energy Star appear in several of these listings. If a listing does not state a certification, treat that as something to verify rather than assume.

6. Smart features and monitoring. Most of these chargers use LED indicators for status and faults. Two Lectron units go further: the Level 1 Tesla WiFi model adds app control and scheduling, and the dual-level NACS model adds real-time monitoring through its indicators.

Our Top 10 Picks

Best Overall

1. Lectron Level 1/2 Tesla NACS Portable EV Charger, 8A-40A Dual-Level Charging Station with NEMA 14-50/5-15 Plug

Lectron Level 1/2 Tesla NACS portable EV charger with NEMA 14-50 and 5-15 plugs

Best for: NACS drivers who want one charger for both outlet typesConnector / fit: NACS — Tesla Model 3/Y/S/X/Cybertruck and NACS alliance vehiclesOutput / rating: 8A–40A dual-levelInstall / use: Plug-in, 20 ft cable, wall mount included

This is the most complete package in the roundup on paper. The listing includes both a NEMA 5-15 plug for Level 1 charging and a NEMA 14-50 plug for Level 2 charging, an adjustable range from 8A to 40A, a 20 ft cable, and a wall mount for semi-permanent use. It is ETL-certified and lists overvoltage, overcurrent, and over-temperature protection, with LED indicators for charging progress and faults. The trade-offs are the NACS-only connector and the fact that 40A is the charger’s ceiling, not a promise about your vehicle.

Pros

  • Two plug types in one unit for Level 1 and Level 2 use
  • 20 ft cable plus included wall mount
  • ETL-certified with stated overvoltage, overcurrent, and over-temperature protection
  • Wide 8A–40A adjustable range
Cons

  • NACS connector only — not for J1772 vehicles without an adapter
  • Higher price tier than most picks here
  • Vehicle-side limits may cap real-world amperage below 40A
Best Alternative

2. Level 1&2 Portable EV Charger 32Amp, 110V-240V with 20FT Cable, NEMA 14-50/5-15 Plug for Tesla Model Y/X/3/S

Level 1 and 2 32 amp portable NACS EV charger with 20 foot cable and carrying bag

Best for: NACS owners who want 32A Level 2 plus 12A Level 1Connector / fit: NACS — Tesla Model 3/Y/S/X and CybertruckOutput / rating: 32A at 240V (NEMA 14-50P), 12A at 120V (5-15 adapter)Install / use: Plug-in, 20 ft cable, carrying bag included

A close second for NACS drivers, and a sensible pick if you do not need the 40A ceiling of the top pick. The listing describes Level 2 charging through a NEMA 14-50P plug at 32A and 240V, and Level 1 charging through a 5-15 plug adapter at 12A and 120V. LED indicators report current, voltage, charging amount, and time, and the unit lists protection against leaks, grounding issues, voltage problems, overcharging, and overheating, with automatic shutoff when the vehicle is full. It also ships with a carrying bag. Fewer buyer ratings than the leader is the main caveat.

Pros

  • Dual-level charging with two plug options
  • Detailed LED readout of current, voltage, and charge time
  • 20 ft cable and included carrying bag
  • Automatic shutoff when charging completes
Cons

  • NACS connector only
  • 32A Level 2 ceiling is lower than the top pick
  • Smaller review base
Best 40A J1772 Option

3. WOLFBOX PE40 Portable Level 1&2 EV Charger, 40Amp J1772 EVSE for Home Electric Vehicle Charging

WOLFBOX PE40 portable Level 1 and 2 EV charger with 40 amp J1772 connector

Best for: J1772 drivers who want a 40A-rated portable EVSEConnector / fit: J1772Output / rating: 40A per listing titleInstall / use: Portable, plug-in

The PE40 is the highest-rated J1772 option here by amperage, listed as a 40A portable Level 1 and Level 2 EVSE with a J1772 connector. The listing supplies relatively little detail beyond that, so the practical move is to open the product page and confirm the plug type, the cable length, the certification marks, and the protections before you buy. If those check out, it is a strong fit for a J1772 driver who wants headroom above the 16A and 32A picks elsewhere in this list.

Pros

  • 40A rating is the highest J1772 figure in this roundup
  • Portable, dual-level design
  • Strong buyer rating from a modest review base
Cons

  • Listing detail is thin — verify plug type, cable length, and certifications
  • Vehicle-side AC charger may limit actual amperage
  • Fewer ratings than several lower-priced picks
Best Budget Dual-Level

4. Portable Level 1&2 EV Charger for J1772 EVs with NEMA 5-15/6-20 Plug

Portable Level 1 and 2 EV charger for J1772 vehicles with NEMA 5-15 and 6-20 plugs

Best for: J1772 owners who want two plug options at a lower costConnector / fit: J1772Output / rating: Verify listing — amperage not stated in supplied dataInstall / use: Plug-in, dual-level

This one earns its place on price and review volume rather than headline specs. It is a J1772-compatible portable charger that ships with both a NEMA 5-15 plug and a NEMA 6-20 plug, which covers the two most common household and garage outlet styles. With 83 ratings at 4.5 stars, it has more buyer feedback than most of the niche picks here. The listing does not spell out the amperage, cable length, or certification in the supplied data, so confirm those on the product page before ordering.

Pros

  • Two plug types for flexible outlet options
  • Lower price tier than most dual-level picks
  • Solid review base for a budget charger
Cons

  • Amperage, cable length, and certification are not stated in the supplied listing data
  • J1772 only — Tesla needs an adapter
  • No smart or app features mentioned
Best Cable Reach

5. TopAutoGear Portable Level 1&2 EV Charger, 40FT Cable, 16A Adjustable EVSE with LCD, NEMA 6-20/5-15, ETL J1772

TopAutoGear portable Level 1 and 2 EV charger with 40 foot cable and LCD display

Best for: Driveways and deep garages where 40 ft of reach mattersConnector / fit: J1772Output / rating: 16A adjustableInstall / use: Plug-in, 40 ft cable, ETL listed per listing

If your outlet is nowhere near your charge port, this is the pick that solves that problem. The 40 ft cable is by far the longest in this roundup — more than double the 16 ft units. It is a J1772 dual-level charger with adjustable 16A output, an LCD readout, and both NEMA 6-20 and 5-15 plugs, and the listing states ETL listing. The obvious caveat is the tiny review base of four ratings, so you are buying on specification rather than on accumulated buyer experience.

Pros

  • 40 ft cable — the longest reach here
  • Adjustable 16A output with LCD display
  • Two plug types and stated ETL listing
Cons

  • Only four ratings — limited buyer feedback
  • 16A ceiling is modest for Level 2 use
  • Long cable needs somewhere sensible to coil and store
Most Reviewed

6. EVDANCE Level 1&2 EV Charger, 25FT Cable, ETL J1772 EVSE, 12A 120V/16A 240V for EVs & PHEVs

EVDANCE Level 1 and 2 portable EV charger with 25 foot J1772 cable

Best for: J1772 EV and plug-in hybrid ownersConnector / fit: J1772 — Tesla requires a SAE J1772 adapterOutput / rating: 12A at 120V, 16A at 240VInstall / use: Plug-in, 25 ft cable, 1-year warranty

With more than 500 ratings, this is the most reviewed charger in the roundup, and that volume is worth something when you are buying a device you will leave plugged in overnight. The listing covers J1772 EVs and plug-in hybrids, notes that Tesla vehicles need an SAE J1772 adapter, and specifies 12A at 120V and 16A at 240V. An LED display shows charging status and errors, and the unit carries a stated ETL listing and a one-year warranty. The 16A Level 2 ceiling is the main limitation — this is a convenience charger, not a fast one.

Pros

  • Largest review base in this roundup
  • Works with J1772 EVs and plug-in hybrids
  • LED status and error display
  • Stated ETL listing and 1-year warranty
Cons

  • Tesla owners need a separate SAE J1772 adapter
  • 16A Level 2 output is on the low side
  • No app or scheduling features mentioned
Best Compact Dual-Level

7. Level 1&2 Portable EV Charger, 3.5KW 16Amp, 110V-240V, 20FT Cable, NEMA 6-20/5-15 for J1772 EVs

Compact 16 amp Level 1 and 2 portable EV charger with 20 foot cable for J1772 EVs

Best for: J1772 owners who want a simple, well-reviewed dual-level unitConnector / fit: J1772Output / rating: 16A, 3.5 kW, 110–240VInstall / use: Plug-in, 20 ft cable

A straightforward dual-level charger for J1772 vehicles, listed at 3.5 kW and 16A across a 110–240V range, with a 20 ft cable and both NEMA 6-20 and 5-15 plugs. Nearly 500 ratings at 4.4 stars puts it in the same confidence tier as the EVDANCE unit above. It is a good fit if you want a compact charger that handles both household and higher-voltage outlets without paying for features you will not use. As with every 16A unit here, expect modest Level 2 speed.

Pros

  • Large review base with a solid average rating
  • Dual-level with two plug types
  • 20 ft cable is a practical middle ground
  • Compact footprint for storage between uses
Cons

  • 16A output limits Level 2 charging speed
  • J1772 only
  • No smart features or app control listed
Best Dedicated Level 1

8. Lectron Level 1 EV Charger, ETL Certified, 120V 15Amp, 16FT J1772 Cable, NEMA 5-15 Plug for EVs

Lectron Level 1 EV charger with 120V NEMA 5-15 plug and 16 foot J1772 cable

Best for: J1772 drivers who only ever need a standard 120V outletConnector / fit: J1772 — BMW, Ford, Honda, Hyundai, Kia, Porsche, Nissan, Chevy and other J1772 vehiclesOutput / rating: 120V, 15A, 1.65 kWInstall / use: Plug-in, 16 ft cable, IP65 rated

If you have decided you want a true Level 1 charger and nothing more, this is the cleanest example of the category. It runs on a NEMA 5-15 plug at 120V and 15A, which the listing puts at 1.65 kW and roughly 40–50 miles of overnight range. It carries FCC and ETL certification against the UL 2594 standard, an Energy Star rating, and an IP65 dust and water resistance rating, and it lists overvoltage, overcurrent, and short circuit protection. The 16 ft cable is the shortest here, and there is no Level 2 option at all — that is the trade-off for simplicity.

Pros

  • Clear Level 1 positioning with a stated 1.65 kW output
  • ETL (UL 2594), FCC, and Energy Star listed
  • IP65 dust and water resistance rating
  • Broad J1772 vehicle compatibility list
Cons

  • No Level 2 capability
  • 16 ft cable is the shortest in this roundup
  • Slower than any dual-level pick on a 240V outlet
Best Smart Level 1

9. Lectron Level 1 Tesla WiFi EV Charger with App Control, 12Amp 120V, NEMA 5-15, 16FT NACS Cable

Lectron Level 1 Tesla WiFi portable EV charger with app control and 16 foot NACS cable

Best for: Tesla and NACS drivers who want scheduling and app visibilityConnector / fit: NACS — Tesla Model S/3/X/Y, Cybertruck, and NACS alliance vehiclesOutput / rating: 12A, 120V, 1.44 kWInstall / use: Plug-in, 16 ft NACS cable, IP67 control box, carrying case

The only Level 1 charger here with genuine smart features. Through the Lectron App you can monitor charging status in real time, schedule sessions, and set how many kWh you want to add — useful if you are on a time-of-use rate or want to stop at a target charge. The listing puts output at 1.44 kW and 30–40 miles of overnight range on a NEMA 5-15 outlet, with overvoltage, overcurrent, and short-circuit protection shown via an LED indicator, an IP67-rated control box, and a carrying case. The 12A output is lower than the J1772 Lectron above, so this is about control rather than speed.

Pros

  • WiFi and app control with scheduling and kWh targets
  • NACS compatible with Tesla and NACS alliance vehicles
  • IP67-rated control box and included carrying case
  • LED status indicator for faults
Cons

  • 12A output is the lowest in this roundup
  • Level 1 only — no 240V option
  • App functionality depends on the manufacturer’s app remaining supported
Best Adjustable Current

10. Level 1&2 Portable EV Charger 32Amp, ETL UL 2594, 120V/240V, NEMA 14-50, Adjustable 6-32A, 25FT J1772

CHARGEHERE 32 amp Level 1 and 2 portable EV charger with adjustable current and 25 foot J1772 cable

Best for: J1772 owners who want to dial current up or downConnector / fit: J1772Output / rating: Adjustable 6–32A, 120V/240V, 240V output voltageInstall / use: Plug-in, 25 ft cable, NEMA 14-50 plug, ETL and FCC listed per listing

The standout feature here is the adjustable 6–32A range. Being able to step the current down is genuinely useful when you are plugging into an unfamiliar outlet or want to be gentler on a shared circuit. The listing covers 120V and 240V operation, a NEMA 14-50 plug, a 25 ft J1772 cable, and ETL and FCC specification marks, with a listed weight of 10.3 pounds. Review volume is modest at 38 ratings, and the listing does not detail the 120V plug arrangement, so confirm how it handles Level 1 use before you buy.

Pros

  • Adjustable 6–32A output for flexible current control
  • 120V and 240V operation with a NEMA 14-50 plug
  • 25 ft J1772 cable
  • ETL and FCC marks listed
Cons

  • Only 38 ratings
  • Level 1 plug arrangement is not detailed in the supplied listing data
  • J1772 only — Tesla needs an adapter

Buying Guide: Choosing a Level 1 Portable EV Charger

Most of the products above are dual-level, which means they can run on 120V for Level 1 charging or on 240V for Level 2 charging. That is convenient, but it also means the buying decision has more moving parts than a single-voltage charger.

Connector Check

NACS / SAE J3400Products 1, 2, and 9 use a NACS connector and list Tesla Model 3/Y/S/X, Cybertruck, and NACS alliance vehicles.
J1772Products 3 through 8 and product 10 use J1772. The EVDANCE listing notes Tesla vehicles require a SAE J1772 adapter.
CCS1None of these products are DC fast charging equipment. CCS1 compatibility is not claimed in any supplied listing.

Important: Physical fit alone does not prove every charging mode is supported.

Next, think about the outlet. A NEMA 5-15 plug is the familiar household shape, and it is what makes Level 1 charging possible at all. A NEMA 14-50 or 6-20 plug is a higher-voltage connection that unlocks Level 2 charging — but only if the circuit behind it is set up for that load.

Before You Buy

  • Confirm connector and vehicle-side charging compatibility
  • Verify charger/output and installation requirements
  • Confirm cable reach or adapter direction as relevant
  • Verify safety listing, warranty, app, and outdoor details when important
  • Include installation and accessory costs

Finally, decide whether you actually need Level 2 at all. If your daily mileage is modest and your car sits overnight, a dedicated Level 1 unit like the Lectron 15A model is often enough. If you want the option to charge faster later, a dual-level unit gives you a path upward — and when you are ready to move to a permanent setup, our Level 2 home chargers section is the next stop. For a deeper look at how Lectron’s safety documentation stacks up across the range, see this review of the ETL-certified Lectron Level 2 charger.

Final Verdict

  • Best for: NACS drivers who want one charger for both household and 14-50 outlets — the Lectron Level 1/2 Tesla NACS unit covers the widest range of situations in this roundup.
  • Think twice if: your car uses J1772, in which case the WOLFBOX PE40 or the EVDANCE dual-level charger is the better starting point.
  • Next step: confirm your charge port connector, your available outlet type, and your vehicle’s onboard AC charging limit before choosing an amperage rating.

Frequently Asked Questions About Best Level 1 Portable Ev Charger

It depends on your daily mileage and how long the car sits plugged in. The Lectron Level 1 J1772 unit in this roundup is listed at 1.65 kW and roughly 40–50 miles of overnight range, which covers a typical commute for many drivers but not a long daily drive.

Level 1 charging uses a standard 120V household-style outlet, while Level 2 uses a 240V connection and delivers more power. Many chargers here are dual-level, meaning they ship with plugs for both — for example, a NEMA 5-15 for 120V and a NEMA 14-50 for 240V.

Match the connector to your vehicle’s charge port. NACS units in this list are listed for Tesla Model 3/Y/S/X, Cybertruck, and NACS alliance vehicles, while J1772 units cover brands like BMW, Ford, Honda, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, and Chevy. Tesla owners using a J1772 charger need a SAE J1772 adapter, as the EVDANCE listing notes.

Level 1 charging is designed around a standard 120V outlet, and the products here list NEMA 5-15 plugs. Even so, check that the outlet is in good condition and not already carrying heavy loads, and follow the manufacturer’s instructions. If you are unsure about the circuit, have a qualified electrician look at it.

Not necessarily. The EVSE advertises what it can supply, but your vehicle’s onboard AC charger sets the actual limit, and the circuit behind the outlet has to support the load too. A 40A-capable charger on a vehicle that accepts less will simply deliver less.

Only if the listing supports it. Two products here state ratings — the Lectron Level 1 J1772 charger is listed at IP65, and the Lectron Level 1 Tesla WiFi charger lists an IP67-rated control box. For any charger without a stated weather rating, verify outdoor suitability with the manufacturer before leaving it outside.

Final Thoughts on Level 1 Portable EV Charging

The right pick here comes down to two facts you already know: your charge port and your outlet. NACS drivers get the most flexibility from the Lectron Level 1/2 Tesla NACS charger, while J1772 owners can choose between the higher-amperage WOLFBOX PE40, the heavily reviewed EVDANCE unit, or the dedicated Level 1 Lectron if simplicity is what you want.

Whatever you choose, treat the amperage rating as a ceiling rather than a promise. Confirm the connector, confirm the outlet and circuit, and confirm what your vehicle will actually accept — then buy the charger that fits those three answers.

How We Evaluated

Source or methodSupplied Amazon product-page data.
What it confirmsEditorial comparison of stated features, product intent, setup and compatibility clues.
Important limitationNo first-hand test is assumed; confirm current technical and vehicle-specific details before buying.


Author

  • Mark Reynolds, EV charging and ownership writer

    Hi, I’m Mark Reynolds, an EV charging and ownership writer helping U.S. EV owners make informed decisions about home chargers, adapters, battery care, charging costs, and range. I share clear, practical guidance to make everyday EV ownership simpler.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *