10 Best Smart EV Chargers for Home
Finding the best smart EV charger for home starts with matching the charger’s amperage, connector, and installation style to your vehicle and your garage’s electrical setup. This roundup compares ten Level 2 home charging options on Amazon, from a feature-packed 48A wall station to budget-friendly portable 40A chargers, so you can see which one fits your EV, your outlet, and your budget.
The 48A Level 2 EV Wall Charger (11.5kW, 25ft cable, WiFi app, RFID, IP65, UL Certified) is the strongest all-around pick for most homeowners: it combines high output, smart access control, a large LCD display, and verified UL certification. It suits anyone who wants a permanent wall-mounted charger with smart features and weather resistance. Its main limitation is that you must verify your vehicle’s onboard AC charging limit and your home’s circuit capacity before committing.
All ten picks are Level 2 chargers running on 240V, which delivers dramatically faster charging than a standard 120V Level 1 cord. Most use a NEMA 14-50 plug, a receptacle commonly found in newer garages and RV parks, while the Autel model is hardwired. One important caveat: your EV’s onboard charger sets the actual charging speed, so a 48A EVSE only delivers 48A if the vehicle can accept it. For a deeper look at high-output stations, see our roundup of the best 48 amp Level 2 EV chargers for home charging.
Quick Product Comparison
| Product | Image | Type / Connector | Best For | Current Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Level 2 EV Wall Charger 48A | ![]() |
Wall-mounted Level 2, verify connector | Feature-rich 48A home charging with WiFi, RFID, and IP65 | See Price → |
| Level 2 Portable EV Charger 32A | ![]() |
Portable Level 2, J1772 | Budget-friendly smart portable charging | See Price → |
| Level 2 Home EV Charger 40A | ![]() |
Home Level 2, J1772 | Best value 40A home charging with adjustable current | See Price → |
| EVDANCE Level 2 40A EV Charger | ![]() |
Smart WiFi Level 2, verify connector | Warranty-backed smart home charging | See Price → |
| AIMILER Level 2 Tesla Charger 32A | ![]() |
Portable/home Level 2, NACS | Tesla and NACS EVs that need no adapter | See Price → |
| Level 2 EV Wall Charger 40A (ZAPVOLT) | ![]() |
Smart wall Level 2, J1772 | Weather-resistant outdoor wall charging | See Price → |
| Level 2 EV Charger 40A WiFi (DREAMDASH) | ![]() |
Smart home Level 2, J1772 | App-controlled charging with delay timer | See Price → |
| Autel Level 2 Smart Home EV Charger | ![]() |
Hardwired Level 2, NACS | Permanent 50A installation with trusted brand | See Price → |
| TopAutoGear Level 2 50A EV Charger | ![]() |
Portable EVSE Level 2, J1772 | Portable 50A charging with LCD timer | See Price → |
| Portable Level 2 EV Charger 40A | ![]() |
Portable Level 2, J1772 | Weather-resistant budget portable charging | See Price → |
What Matters for Best Smart Ev Charger For Home
Before you compare prices and brands, focus on these six factors — they determine whether a charger will actually work well for your EV and your home.
- Charging current vs. your vehicle’s limit: A 48A EVSE only charges at 48A if your car’s onboard AC charger can accept that rate. Many EVs top out at 32A or 40A, so check your vehicle’s maximum AC charging speed first.
- Connector type: Most non-Tesla EVs use the J1772 connector, while Tesla and newer NACS vehicles use the NACS (SAE J3400) plug. The AIMILER and Autel picks here are NACS-native; the rest are J1772, and Teslas will need an adapter for J1772 chargers.
- Installation style: Plug-in chargers with a NEMA 14-50 plug are the easiest DIY option if you already have the outlet. Hardwired chargers like the Autel usually require an electrician and a dedicated circuit.
- Smart features: WiFi app control, RFID access, LCD displays, adjustable current, and delay timers all add convenience — but only if you’ll actually use them. Decide which features matter before paying a premium.
- Cable length and portability: A 25-foot cable is the standard across this roundup and covers most garage layouts. Portable chargers add flexibility for road trips but usually offer fewer smart features than wall-mounted stations.
- Safety and weather ratings: Look for UL, ETL, or CSA certification and an IP rating if you plan to mount the charger outdoors. Several picks here carry these marks; for others, verify the current listing.
Our Top 10 Picks
1. 48A Level 2 EV Charger 11.5kW, 25ft Cable, WiFi App, RFID, IP65 Weatherproof, UL Certified
This 48A wall charger is the most feature-complete unit in the roundup. The 4.3-inch high-resolution LCD display shows charging rate, remaining time, voltage, current, and total power delivered, while WiFi app control and RFID give you flexible access management. It carries UL, CE, FCC, and RoHS marks and an IP65 weatherproof rating, so it’s positioned for both indoor and outdoor mounting. The main trade-off is that you’ll need to confirm your vehicle accepts 48A AC charging and that your electrical panel has capacity for a high-amperage circuit.
- 48A output with 11.5kW maximum
- UL certified and IP65 weatherproof
- 4.3-inch LCD display with charging data
- WiFi app and RFID access control
- 25-foot cable reach
- Connector type not stated in the listing
- Requires verifying vehicle and circuit compatibility
2. Level 2 EV Charger 32A Smart App, 240V NEMA 14-50, 25ft Cable, Portable J1772 Home Charging Station
This portable 32A charger is the most affordable way to add smart Level 2 charging without hiring an electrician. It plugs into a NEMA 14-50 receptacle, includes a 25-foot cable, and pairs with a smart app for control and monitoring. It holds a perfect 5.0-star average, though that’s based on just 4 ratings. The listing does not mention a safety certification, so verify the current listing details before buying.
- Low entry price for smart Level 2 charging
- Portable design with 25-foot cable
- Smart app support
- 5.0-star average rating
- Only 4 ratings so far
- 32A output limits charge speed for larger EVs
- No safety certification stated in supplied data
3. Level 2 EV Charger 40A 9.6kW, Adjustable Current Delay, NEMA 14-50, 25ft Cable, J1772 for BEVs/PHEVs
This 40A charger delivers 9.6kW of Level 2 power and adds adjustable current plus a delay function, making it a flexible pick for BEVs and PHEVs alike. It plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet and includes a 25-foot J1772 cable. It earns a 5.0-star average, but with only 2 ratings, the sample is very small. The listing doesn’t mention a smart app or a safety certification, so check the current listing if those matter to you.
- 40A / 9.6kW output for faster home charging
- Adjustable current and delay scheduling
- J1772 compatibility for BEVs and PHEVs
- Competitive price for the amperage
- Only 2 ratings to date
- No smart app or certification mentioned in supplied data
4. EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger 40A 9.6kW, Smart WiFi Home Station, NEMA 14-50 Plug, 25ft Cable, IP65
The EVDANCE 40A station combines smart WiFi control, a NEMA 14-50 plug, and a 25-foot cable in a package rated IP65 for weather resistance. It carries a UL specification mark and is backed by a 3-year limited warranty with a stated 24-hour support turnaround time, which is the strongest support promise in this roundup. With a 4.8-star average from 12 ratings, early buyers are happy, though the sample is still small. The connector type isn’t spelled out in the supplied data, so confirm it matches your EV. If you’re comparing EVDANCE against other popular models, our EVDANCE vs. EVIQO 48A comparison is a useful starting point.
- 3-year limited warranty with 24-hour support turnaround
- Smart WiFi app control
- IP65 weatherproof rating
- UL specification mark
- 40A / 9.6kW output
- Connector type not stated in supplied data
- Small review sample (12 ratings)
5. AIMILER Level 2 Tesla Charger 32A, WiFi App, 25ft ETL Certified Cable, NEMA 14-50 NACS Connector, Portable/Home
The AIMILER is the only charger in this roundup with a native NACS connector, so Tesla Model S/X/3/Y owners can plug in without an adapter. It’s backed by a 3-year quality warranty and ships with a portable handbag, wall-mount fixing cover, and cable holder. The 25-foot cable is ETL certified, and the unit includes automatic off, short-circuit protection, and water resistance. With 1,330 ratings and a 4.6-star average, it’s also the most-reviewed product here. Note that the 32A output is lower than the 40A/48A stations on this list, and J1772 vehicles will need their own adapter.
- Native NACS connector for Tesla EVs
- ETL certified 25-foot cable
- 3-year quality warranty included
- Portable kit with handbag and wall mount
- 1,330 ratings at 4.6 stars
- 32A output is modest for a Level 2 charger
- J1772 vehicles require an adapter
6. Level 2 EV Charger 40A 9.6kW, Smart Wall Station, J1772 NEMA 14-50, WiFi RFID, UL Certified IP66
This ZAPVOLT Gen 2 wall station combines a 40A output with WiFi and RFID access control, plus the highest weather rating in this roundup at IP66. It’s listed with ETL, FCC, and UL marks, which makes it one of the more thoroughly documented options here. The compact 8.66″ x 8.66″ footprint keeps the station tidy on the wall. It has a 4.5-star average from 10 ratings, so it’s still early days for buyer feedback.
- IP66 weather rating
- ETL, FCC, and UL marks in supplied data
- WiFi and RFID access control
- 40A / 9.6kW output
- Only 10 ratings so far
- Brand is less established than Autel
7. Level 2 EV Charger 40A, WiFi App, 240V NEMA 14-50 Plug, J1772 Connector for Home EV Charging
The DREAMDASH 40A charger is built around app control: the listing highlights fast charging, WiFi app control, adjustable current, and a delay timer, all in a portable kit with a 25-foot cable, handbag, and wall-mount nozzle holder. It targets North American J1772 EVs and works with any smartphone. With 66 ratings and a 4.4-star average, it has more buyer feedback than several other picks here. The listing doesn’t state a safety certification, so verify that before purchasing if it’s important to you.
- WiFi app control with adjustable current
- Delay timer for off-peak charging
- J1772 compatibility with 25-foot cable
- Includes handbag and wall-mount nozzle holder
- No safety certification stated in supplied data
- 4.4-star average is mid-pack
8. Autel Level 2 Smart Home EV Charger, 50A Hardwired 240V, 25-Foot Cable, Indoor/Outdoor, Compatible with Tesla
Autel is a well-known name in automotive diagnostics, and this 50A hardwired charger brings that brand credibility to home charging. It uses a NACS connector for Tesla EVs, so no adapter is needed for most Teslas, and it’s CSA certified and eligible for the federal rebate program per the listing. The supplied data notes it requires a 20A or 80A circuit, which is unusual for a 50A charger, so double-check the exact circuit requirement in the listing and manual. It’s also the most expensive pick here, and hardwired installation typically means an electrician.
- CSA certified and federal rebate eligible per listing
- Native NACS connector for Tesla EVs
- Trusted Autel brand
- Indoor/outdoor suitability listed
- 25-foot cable
- Highest price in the roundup
- Hardwired installation required
- Circuit requirement needs verification
9. TopAutoGear Level 2 EV Charger 50A 240V, Portable EVSE, 25ft Cable, NEMA 14-50, Smart LCD Timer, J1772
The TopAutoGear is a portable EVSE that pushes output up to 50A at 240V, making it one of the highest-rated portable options in this roundup. It includes a 25-foot J1772 cable and a smart LCD timer for monitoring charging sessions. With 106 ratings and a 4.0-star average, it has a reasonable amount of buyer feedback, though the rating is the lowest among the featured picks. The listing doesn’t mention a safety certification or app control, so verify those details if they matter to you.
- 50A portable output at 240V
- Smart LCD timer
- 25-foot J1772 cable
- 106 buyer ratings
- 4.0-star average is the lowest here
- No safety certification or app features stated
10. Portable Level 2 EV Charger 40A 9.6kW, NEMA 14-50 Plug, 25ft Cable, Smart 240V J1772 for Home
This TLE LEVEL portable charger is designed for quick setup: the listing says you can plug into a NEMA 14-50 outlet in about 60 seconds, and the 25-foot cable reaches awkward parking spots. It’s rated IP66 and NEMA 4, with an operating range of -22°F to 122°F, so it’s built for rough weather. It comes with a 2-year warranty and a free storage bag, and it works with all EVs, though Teslas need an adapter. With 69 ratings and a 4.0-star average, buyer feedback is solid but not glowing.
- IP66 and NEMA 4 weather protection
- 2-year warranty with free storage bag
- 40A / 9.6kW output
- Works in -22°F to 122°F per listing
- No electrician needed for NEMA 14-50 setup
- Tesla vehicles require an adapter
- 4.0-star average from 69 ratings
Smart EV Charger Buying Guide
Here’s what to check before you buy any Level 2 charger for your home.
Most picks here use a NEMA 14-50 plug, which is the easiest route if the receptacle already exists. You can install the charger yourself, but the receptacle and breaker must match the charger’s requirements. If you’re new to portable charging, our guide to what a portable EV charger is and how it works explains the basics.
The Autel is the only hardwired model in this roundup. Hardwiring can support higher continuous current and removes the receptacle, but it requires a dedicated circuit and professional installation in most cases.
Important: Physical fit alone does not prove every charging mode is supported.
- Confirm your EV’s maximum AC charging rate
- Verify the connector type matches your vehicle (J1772 or NACS)
- Check whether you have a NEMA 14-50 receptacle or need a hardwired circuit
- Verify safety certification, warranty, and smart-app details in the current listing
- Include installation and any adapter costs in your budget
Verify the connector, charging output, and your car’s onboard AC limit.
Check the receptacle, circuit, mounting, and cable requirements for your garage.
Follow the product instructions and use a qualified professional for hardwired installation.
- Best for: The 48A Level 2 wall charger (B0H4PXPSGV) is the best smart EV charger for home use in this roundup, combining 48A output, a 4.3-inch LCD, WiFi app and RFID access, IP65 weatherproofing, and UL certification.
- Think twice if: You own a Tesla and want a native NACS plug — the AIMILER and Autel are better fits. On a tight budget, the 40A value pick covers the basics for less.
- Next step: Verify your vehicle’s maximum AC charging rate, confirm your garage’s receptacle or circuit, and check the current listing for the connector type and safety certification.
Frequently Asked Questions About Best Smart Ev Charger For Home
In this roundup, the 48A Level 2 wall charger is the strongest overall pick because it combines high output, a large LCD display, WiFi and RFID access, IP65 weatherproofing, and UL certification. The right choice for you also depends on your vehicle’s connector and charging limit.
It depends on your EV’s onboard AC charger. A 48A charger only delivers 48A if the car can accept it, so many drivers see no benefit beyond 40A. If you’re unsure, check your vehicle’s maximum AC charge rate first. Our guide to whether 48 amps is enough for a Level 2 charger can help.
Plug-in chargers with a NEMA 14-50 plug can be installed by a confident DIYer if the receptacle already exists and is rated for the load. Hardwired chargers like the Autel generally require a dedicated circuit and a qualified electrician.
A NACS charger like the AIMILER or Autel is designed for Tesla and NACS-equipped vehicles. J1772 vehicles would need a NACS-to-J1772 adapter, and adapter direction matters, so verify compatibility before buying.
IP ratings describe protection against solids and water. IP65 means dust-tight and protected against low-pressure water jets, while IP66 adds protection against powerful water jets. Both are reasonable for outdoor mounting, but always follow the manufacturer’s guidance.
A 32A charger at 240V delivers roughly 7.7kW, while the 40A and 48A models in this roundup are rated at 9.6kW and 11.5kW. Your car’s onboard charger determines how much of that power it can actually use, so the real-world speed depends on your vehicle.
Choosing the right home charger comes down to three things: your vehicle’s onboard AC charging limit, the outlet or wiring you already have, and the smart features you’ll actually use. The 48A wall charger leads this roundup because it bundles high output, a large LCD display, smart access, weather resistance, and UL certification into one package.
Whatever you pick, verify the connector matches your EV, confirm the charging current your car can accept, and check whether you need an electrician. Prices and availability change quickly, so use the buttons above to check the latest listings before you buy.









